Moodle: Blocks: Course Preferences System: LSU Overview (Faculty)


The Course Preferences Block is located at the bottom of the front page of Moodle. This block contains several links to settings that can be personalized according to the instructors preference, each of which is explained below and linked to more information. Students have access to the "User preferences" link, but only instructors of record (as listed on the mainframe) have access to the other settings.

Note: The settings available to you depends on your role, and the number of sections you teach. For example, if you teach one section, you will not see the "Splitting" setting.

Course Preferences Block:

administrator Course Preference block  

student course preference
 

Details on Each Course Preference:

Creation / Enrollment - Creation and Enrollment settings allow instructors to specify how many days prior to the start of the term a Moodle course is created and how soon the course rosters are added. 

Splitting - Splitting allows an instructor to separate online courses with two or more sections into multiple online courses. This is especially useful for separating the gradebook and having specific due dates for each section.

Cross-listing - Cross-listing enables an instructor to combine sections from different multiple courses into a single online course.

Team Teach Requests - Team teach requests are made by an instructor who wants to Team teach with one or multiple instructors. There is one request for each department and course number desired. For example: to team teach with one or more instructors in BIOL 1201, only one request is required.

Master Course - A Master Course is a Moodle course designated to store course materials for selected courses. These created courses will not contain student enrollment.

Unwanted - Unwanted sections and courses will be removed from Moodle. Instructors should only "unwant" a course if they have no intention of using Moodle. Undoing an unwanted selection will re-enroll and/or re-create the sections in Moodle, with a potential loss of student data, such as attendance. 

  • Note: Instructors should NOT use this feature to hide or remove courses from the My Courses. Doing so will result in a loss of student and course data.

User Preferences - Users are allowed to change their first name to a preferred name once. It can then only be reset or edited by a Moodle administrator.

Support & Training

Support and training for Moodle is available via the Faculty Technology Center at ftc@lsu.edu. For more information, please see the following article: Faculty Technology Center: LSU Overview

Attending at least one training session for Moodle upgrades is highly recommended. For a comprehensive list of training sessions, as well as to register for a slot, please see http://training.lsu.edu.

20220
6/29/2020 5:24:47 PM

Attachments: