SNAP: Blocks: Hiding and Deleting Blocks


Hiding Blocks:

You can hide blocks entirely by clicking the Hide Icon.

1. Log in to your course on Moodle.

2. Look below the left menu and click on Course Tools.

Course Tools button

 

3. Click on the Edit blocks button on the Course Tools page.

edit blocks icon

 

4. Click the gear icon (Actions) and then select Hide "name here " block for the block you want to hide.

Gear icon and hide block option

 

5. The block will display as gray whenever editing is ON and the will disappear entirely when you turn editing OFF.

6. To make the block visible again, turn edit on, then click Show "name here" block.

Show block option

 

7. You must click on Stop Editing at the top of the course before attempting to return to your main course page. 

Stop editing button

 

Deleting Blocks:

You can delete some blocks by clicking the Delete icon.  NOTE: the Navigation and Administration blocks cannot be deleted.

1. Log in to your course on Moodle.

2. Look below the left menu and click on Course Tools.

Course Tools button

 

3. Click on the Edit blocks button on the Course Tools page.

edit blocks icon

 

4. Click the Delete icon within the block you want to delete. The block will no longer appear on your Moodle page. You can return deleted blocks by using the Block menu.

Delete block option

 

5. If you'd like to add a different block, you can select the block you want to add from the Add a block drop down menu.

Add a block drop-down box

 

6. You must click on Stop Editing at the top of the course before attempting to return to your main course page. 

Stop editing button

 

For Moodle Essentials-themed course instruction please see Moodle 3: Blocks: Hiding and Deleting Blocks.

20008
10/31/2019 10:07:44 AM